We now will offer private classes if needed, price may differ, call for information,
A little about the Instructor: Michael Borkowski is the Instructor and has over 50 years of firearms handling and Training. He worked with the Vermont Fish and Game Division as a Firearms Safety Instructor , Bow Hunter Safety Instructor, and a Snowmobile Safety Instructor. Attended the Vermont State Police Academy. Worked with the Vermont Department of Corrections and Saint Albans Police Department, Along with the Massachusetts State Police Firearms Instructor, and some State and Federal Agencies.
Massachusetts is one state that has the most confusing laws on the books, Please make sure you ask the right person questions about what you are looking for, I have so many people call and say they cant do a class because a friend told them they could not because of whatever that friend says they have to do. I like answering your questions, I may not know everything but Ill find the answer if I don't know it.
Anyone in Massachusetts can take this class if you are the right age for the class you are taking, if you have questionable issues in your background that's between you and the local police department, you don't have to shoot to take this course, and when your done with my course you will get a certificate to bring to your local police department and a one year membership to the NRA.
Get your Massachusetts State Police approved LTC / FID Classes now Along with your own free NRA membership. A Massachusetts Department of State Police Certificate will be awarded for satisfactory completion of the course. This course meets all training requirements to obtain your LTC / FID license to carry a pistol in the State of Massachusetts and some other states also.
1- Helping you complete your LTC / FID application.
2- Ongoing support via the phone and/or email after you complete the course
3- Safe gun handling
4- Safe Gun Storage
5- help in picking your first gun
6- The laws to help you understand what is right and what is wrong
7- Guidance to a rifle pistol range in your area club
8- A official State Police Class Certificate to take to your local Police Department
9- help at rifle range with shooting...ask for details on this...
10-Free NRA membership
Total Fee for the Class is $90.00 per person must be paid in full before class
We try to have classes on the first Saturday and the last Saturday of every month.
If you need to have a class earlier, call and we will see if we can set one up.
"CANT MAKE ONE OF OUR CLASSES AND YOU NEED A CLASS"
We will come to your place of work, or home, or if you have a gun club needing a class we will come to you. Please have three or more for this and fee must be paid for before class.
Applications are available by mail or fax or E mail us
Live Fire Options
You do not have to shoot a firearm in any of our classes per State of Massachusetts Laws. but we do offer a firearms live fire class as part of the above class at no fee, all we ask is you pay for the ammo used during this training. We have several guns you can shoot. Locations to live fire are scarce at this time due to insurance issues, so if you have a place we can shoot legally then we can use it, otherwise we suggest joining a club like Chicopee Sportsman where we are a member so we can use there range. but we are open to suggestions.
Click the link below to go to the LTC application form
TYPES OF MASS FIREARMS PERMITS
There are three types of firearms permits available in Mass. Massachusetts Requires all gun owners to possess a License
Firearms Identification Card - Also Known As FID Card License To Carry There Is Also A
FID CARD Must be 18 Years Old or 15 With Parent Permission
Non-Large Capacity Rifles & Shotguns and Ammunition.
LTC Must Be 21 Years Old
Large Capacity Handguns
Large Capacity Rifles & Shotguns
Allows Concealed Carry
(unless restricted by issuing authority)
How To transport A Firearm In A Vehicle Transporting A Firearm In A Vehicle Chapter
140 Section 131C.
No person carrying a loaded firearm under a Class A license shall carry the same in a vehicle unless such firearm while carried therein is under the direct control of such person. Whoever violates the provisions of this subsection shall be punished by a fine of $500.
No person carrying a firearm under a Class B license shall possess the same in a vehicle unless such weapon is unloaded and contained within the locked trunk of such vehicle or in a locked case or other secure container. Whoever violates the provisions of this subsection shall be punished by a fine of $500.
No person possessing a large capacity rifle or shotgun under a Class A or Class B license shall possess the same in a vehicle unless such weapon is unloaded and contained within the locked trunk of such vehicle or in a locked case or other secure container. Whoever violates the provisions of this subsection shall be punished by a fine of not less than $500 nor more than $5,000.
Firearm Owners Protection Act
Transport A Firearm Through Massachusetts FOPA Protection: (Firearms Owners' Protection Act of 1986)
There is protection from prosecution for gun owners under federal statute;
"Safe Passage" provision. This provision gives gun owners protection from prosecution while driving from state to state. In order for the protection to apply all firearms must be locked in tamper proof cases, unloaded. also, the firearm must not be readily available from the passenger compartment of the transporting vehicle (do not use glovebox or console to lock gun in) I recommend that ALL firearms and ammunition are locked in separate cases at all times while driving from state to state as there is no case law to define "loaded". Be sure to check the local laws of any state which you plan to stop in as they vary greatly.
There are other provisions that will allow transportation into and through Mass, however this one will cover you provided it is locked and not accessible.
Mass Law On Storing your Firearms
Storing your Firearms Chapter 141 Section 131L Makes it unlawful to store or keep any firearm, rifle or shotgun including, but not limited to, large capacity weapons, or machine gun in any place unless such weapon is secured in a locked container or equipped with a tamper-resistant mechanical lock or other safety device, properly engaged so as to render such weapon inoperable by any person other than the owner or other lawfully authorized.
Mass Pistol Permit Holders Responsibility After Change Of Address
CHAP 140 sec.129b(11)/sec.131(L) (11) A cardholder shall notify, in writing, the licensing authority that issued such card, the chief of police into whose jurisdiction such cardholder moves and the executive director of the criminal history systems board of any change of address. Such notification shall be made by certified mail within 30 days of its occurrence. Failure to so notify shall be cause for revocation or suspension of such card.
(l) The executive director of the criminal history systems board shall send by first class mail to the holder of each such license to carry firearms, a notice of the expiration of such license not less than 90 days prior to such expiration and shall enclose therein a form for the renewal of such license. The taking of fingerprints shall not be required in issuing the renewal of a license if the renewal applicant's fingerprints are on file with the department of the state police. Any licensee shall notify, in writing, the licensing authority who issued said license, the chief of police into whose jurisdiction the licensee moves and the executive director of the criminal history systems board of any change of address. Such notification shall be made by certified mail within 30 days of its occurrence. Failure to so notify shall be cause for revocation or suspension of said license.
Click on link below to get form
Attorney Stephen Burke
If you Have Been Denied a Mass Permit Or Are Having any Issues In Regards To Licensing. please Visit The Mass Firearms Attorney.
For all your gun license concerns
Massachusetts Firearms Lawyer